Irish Chamber Orchestra 

Changing lives through Music

Newsletter Signup


Irish Chamber Orchestra

Katherine Hunka Director

Finghin Collins Piano


Mozart                 Symphony in D major KV 196+121 La Finta Giardiniera

Stravinsky           Concerto in D Major

Haydn                  Piano Concerto in D major Hob XVIII:11

Stravinsky           Septet

Mozart                 Symphony No. 29 KV 201 A-major


Mozart combined the first two movements of the overture to his opera La Finta Giardiniera (KV 196) with a third movement in the style of a rustic dance (KV 121), to form the opening Symphony in D major (No. 51). The programme concludes with his Symphony No. 29: a crystallization of the young Mozart’s revelatory self-confidence in ever-expanding musical structures.

In between, two works by Stravinsky feature. His neo-classical Concerto in D is virtuosic and unparalleled in the repertoire for string orchestra. In his Septet, we meet the exploratory Stravinsky: a melody generated from a single series of notes unifies and informs this remarkably ingenious composition.

Haydn’s D major Concerto featuring Finghin Collins is a tour de force of fluency, warmth and taste for the soloist. This highly attractive and satisfying work also promises audiences a taste of the exotic: the Finale is a dazzling Gypsy-Rondo.

Concert Dates

  • 20:00, Thursday, October 8, 2015

    RDS Concert Hall Dublin

    Tickets no longer available

  • 1444420800
  • 20:00, Friday, October 9, 2015

    University Concert Hall, Limerick

    Tickets no longer available

  • 1444507200
  • 20:00, Saturday, October 10, 2015

    Black Box Theatre, Galway (presented by Music for Galway)

    Tickets no longer available


Copyright © 2011 Irish Chamber Orchestra. All Rights Reserved.
Charity Number 8789

  • Arts Council logo
  • Culture Fox logo