Irish Chamber Orchestra 

Changing lives through Music

Newsletter Signup


Irish Chamber Orchestra

Katherine Hunka, Director/Violin

István Várdai Cello 


Shostakovich     Prelude and Scherzo

Schumann         Cello Concerto in A minor Op. 129

Sam Perkin        Nimbus for String Orchestra

Shostakovich     Chamber Symphony Op. 110a (8th String Quartet)


Sam Perkin’s Nimbus for String Orchestra has been generously funded by the Arts Council / An Chomhairle Ealaíon.  Hungarian cellist István Várdai, whose youthful virtuosity won the hearts of fans, in 2013, makes a welcome return perfoming Schumann’s intensely romantic Cello Concerto.   The traditional 3-movement Concerto is fused into one, demanding a broad palette of colours, a lightness of touch and Vardai’s reading of it is much anticipated.  Shostakovich’s early Prelude and Scherzo encompass an almost symphonic range of expressive states.  The Prelude is improvisatory, combining sombre and dance elements, while the Scherzo, one of Shostakovich’s tongue-in-cheek creations – is humorous, overflowing with dissonance and youthful energy.  His 8th String Quartet is one of the most powerful and personal works of the twentieth-century, dedicated to the victims of war.

Concert Dates

  • 20:00, Wednesday, February 4, 2015

    National Concert Hall, Dublin

    Tickets no longer available

  • 1423166400
  • 20:00, Thursday, February 5, 2015

    University Concert Hall, Limerick

    Tickets no longer available

  • 1423252800
  • 20:00, Friday, February 6, 2015

    The Model, Sligo

    Tickets no longer available


Copyright © 2011 Irish Chamber Orchestra. All Rights Reserved.
Charity Number 8789

  • Arts Council logo
  • Culture Fox logo