Irish Chamber Orchestra 

Changing lives through Music

Newsletter Signup


Irish Chamber Orchestra

Gábor Takács-Nagy Principal Artistic Partner/Conductor

Kristóf Barati Violin 


Beethoven        Fugue for String Quartet in B flat major Grosse Fugue, Op. 133

Haydn               Violin Concerto Hob Vlla 1, C major

Haydn               Violin Concerto Hob Vlla 4, G major

Bartok               Divertimento


Gábor Takács-Nagy ends his journey with Haydn with two of his sensational violin concerti. The extraordinary violinist, Kristóf Barati performs these gems from Esterhazy.  The virtuosic First, written for violinist Luigi Tomasini is reminiscent of Vivaldi. The Fourth is courtly and grand.  Beethoven wrote his finest music towards the end of his life. The Grosse Fugue was originally intended as the finale to the third of his five quartets.   It was radical and visionary breaking with tradition, stretching the medium of four instruments to their limit.  It was revised and re-titled Grosse Fugue Op. 133.   Much anticipated is Gábor Takács-Nagy’s reading of Bartók‘s Divertimento for Strings, one of the most demanding works for string orchestra. The rhythms and melody of Eastern European folk masterfully voice a vast range of emotions, from light-humoured to the foreboding and sorrow of a continent on the brink of war.

Concert Dates

  • 20:00, Friday, March 6, 2015

    University Concert Hall, Limerick

    Tickets no longer available

  • 1425758400
  • 20:00, Saturday, March 7, 2015

    CIT Cork School of Music

    Tickets no longer available


Copyright © 2011 Irish Chamber Orchestra. All Rights Reserved.
Charity Number 8789

  • Arts Council logo
  • Culture Fox logo