Irish Chamber Orchestra 

Changing lives through Music

Newsletter Signup


Irish Chamber Orchestra

Anthony Marwood, Director/Violin

Daniel Bates, Oboe

Laoise O’Brien Recorder

Kamala Bain Recorder


Bach                      Brandenburg Concerto No. 4 BWV 1049, G-Major

Bach                      Concerto for Violin and Oboe in C minor BWV 1060

Enescu                  Octet Op. 7 C-Major  (arr. Marwood)


The virtuosic Brandenburg Concerto No. 4 BWV 1049 has a delightful freshness that is outstanding, even among the glories of the Bach’s output as a whole.  The music oozes passion, fire and joy, highlighting the interplay beween Anthony Marwood’s virtuosic bow and the two recorder soloists. Bach’s Concerto for Violin and Oboe in C minor, BWV 1060 is one of his greatest concerti.  The overall effect is plaintive and mesmerising – as the two soloists weave around each other dancing.  Savour an opportunity to hear Enescu’s Octet.  An amazing accomplishment, the product of teenage genius, it is an immaculately crafted, impassioned work that tantalisingly fuses the post-Wagnerian ecstasy of early Schonberg with the enigmatic ‘cool’ of Debussy.

Concert Dates

  • 20:00, Thursday, October 16, 2014

    RDS Concert Hall, Dublin

    Tickets no longer available

  • 1413576000
  • 20:00, Friday, October 17, 2014

    University Concert Hall, Limerick

    Tickets no longer available


Copyright © 2011 Irish Chamber Orchestra. All Rights Reserved.
Charity Number 8789

  • Arts Council logo
  • Culture Fox logo