Irish Chamber Orchestra 

Changing lives through Music

Newsletter Signup


Irish Chamber Orchestra

Jörg Widmann Conductor/Clarinet

Igor Levit Piano 


Mendelssohn               String Symphony No. 12

Mendelssohn               Piano Concerto No. 2 in D minor Op. 40

Widmann                    Hunting Quartet

Mendelssohn               Andante from Sonata for Clarinet and Piano in E flat major (arr. Widmann)

Weber                         Symphony No. 2 in C major J51


This concert celebrates the beginning of a three-year collaboration with one of the world’s up-and-coming pianists, Russian-born Igor Levit. The first leg of the ICO’s residency in Heidelberg (April 2016) sees the orchestra performing Mendelssohn and Mozart piano concerti with Levit.

Mendelssohn’s String Symphony No. 12 –  is the last of the series, composed when Mendelssohn was just 14 years of age.  His Piano Concerto No. 1, written aged 21, was wildly popular during his lifetime, and remains so today. This concerto is vivacious music of the kind only Mendelssohn could write – with more than ample opportunity for Igor Levit to display his pyrotechnics!  The fifteen year-old Mendelssohn’s obscure Sonata for Clarinet and Piano remained unpublished until 1987. Widmann has arranged its stunning middle movement, an Andante in G, for string orchestra.

Widmann’s Jagdquartett (Hunting Quartet) is rough, wild and exciting, brimming with energy. From the ‘innocent’ opening to the chase and the chilling final scream, this gallop will have you chomping at the bit!

Weber’s virtuosic Symphony No 2. In C major is a fine example of his style, written by the 21-year-old in less than a week.  It demonstrates what Debussy aptly described as Weber’s ability to ‘scrutinise the soul of each instrument’.

Concert Dates

  • 20:00, Tuesday, March 15, 2016

    University Concert Hall, Limerick

    Tickets no longer available

  • 1458156600
  • 19:30, Wednesday, March 16, 2016

    The Round Room at The Mansion House, Dublin

    Tickets no longer available


Copyright © 2011 Irish Chamber Orchestra. All Rights Reserved.
Charity Number 8789

  • Arts Council logo
  • Culture Fox logo