Loading Events

Mozart & Strauss


Mozart Adagio & Fugue C minor K 546

Mozart Serenade in C minor for Winds K. 388 Nachtmusik or

Mendelssohn String Symphony No. 8 in D major

Strauss Metamorphosen


The ICO emerge from darkness into light with Mozart’s  Adagio & Fugue. The healing Adagio reminiscent of a French overture is filled with bold, expressive progressions whilst the Fugue, rolls on relentlessly to its close.  Mozart’s powerful Wind Serenade oozes a new optimism, a celebration, as we as a nation looks to the future, to new beginnings with music that brims with colour, sophistication, and dramatic intensity.  Finally, Richard Strauss’s  post-war masterpiece Metamorphosen was an impassioned heart cry for the death of German culture. Goethe’s essay On the Metamorphosis of Plants, inspired the title as this ravishing music evokes themes of rebirth, growth, and transformation. There are strong parallels as we emerge from the trauma of Covid with a huge sense of renewal and hope.

Dates & Tickets

Wednesday 15 September, University Concert Hall, Limerick @8pm

Thursday 16 September National Concert Hall, Dublin @8pm

Friday 17 September, Clifden Arts Festival @8pm

Tickets On Sale Soon