Loading Events

Irish Chamber Orchestra with Jonian Ilias Kadesha

Irish Chamber Orchestra

Jonian Ilias Kadesha Director/Violin

Mendelssohn String Symphony No.2 in D major

Skalkottas Five Greek Dances (arr. strings)

BartóRhapsody No.1 (arr. Miloradovic)


Beethoven Violin Sonata No.9 Kreutzer for Violin and Strings (arr. Tognetti).

The amazing Jonian Ilias Kadesha brings us a culturally rich and imaginative programme spanning the centuries.  Mendelssohn’s glorious String Symphony is the second of 13 prodigious works written by the then 12-year-old composer. The music sparkles with youthful panache and joie de vivre. Skalkottas’s love of Greek folk music is evident in his series of extraordinary Greek Dances. Mostly based on genuine Greek folk themes, some reveal Skalkottas’s colourful compositional style.  Bartók too was fascinated by folk music. Rhapsody No. 1 uses folk elements from Transylvania, with additional tunes from Hungary and Ruthenia, Slovakia, and the Ukraine, inspired by the csárdás.  Finally, Kadesha’s virtuosity flourishes as he climbs Beethoven’s ‘Kreutzer’ Sonata, one of the most challenging peaks in music.

Dates and Tickets

Thursday 11 May   Pepper Cannister, Dublin, 7:30pm

Friday 12 May St Mary’s Cathedral, Limerick, 7:30pm