Loading Events

A Midsummer Night’s Stream

Monday 21st June

Irish Chamber Orchestra

Katherine Hunka Director

Sean Shibe Guitar

Grieg                            Holberg Suite Op. 40

Malcolm Arnold        Serenade for Guitar and Strings Op. 50

David Fennessy          Rosewoods (world première)

Errolyn Wallen          Photography

Grieg’s Holberg Suite evokes the beauty of Norway, its sumptuous fjords, lakes, and forests and of course celebrates a glorious Mid-summer evening at Castletown! Malcolm Arnold’s seldom heard Serenade, an exquisite mini-concerto in five short but distinct sections written in 1955, is brought to life tonight by the sensational Scottish guitarist, Sean Shibe, who performs for the first time with ICO. We are delighted to feature the world premiere of Dave Fennessy’s Rosewoods, a joint commission by ICO and the Dublin International Chamber Music Festival.  The Irish Chamber Orchestra are fully at home with the dance-like rhythms of Wallen’s Photography, a four-movement work which evokes the experience of viewing photographs, or snapshots of different worlds beginning with Bach.

Rosewoods by David Fennessey is a joint commission by the Irish Chamber Orchestra and the Dublin International Chamber Music Festival, which is supported by the Festival’s Commissioning Circle of the O’Shea Farren, Meek Conlon, Moore Murphy, O’Driscoll McDonagh and Shinton O’Driscoll families.

Dates & Tickets

Join us on Monday 21st June 2021, 19:30 (Doors open 19:15)