Loading Events


Irish Chamber Orchestra

Thomas Zehetmair Director/Violin

Bach Violin Concerto No. 1 A minor BWV 1041

Bach Violin Concerto No. 2 E major BWV 1042

Raymond Deane Embers

Beethoven String Quartet No. 11 in f minor, Op. 95, Serioso


Bach’s A minor and E major Violin Concertos brim with fantastic melody.  His first, the A minor Concerto, is a cornerstone of the violin repertoire, combining Vivaldi’s virtuoso flair and form with his own harmonic language and complex textures.   The splendid second, also based on the Venetian model, has its own twist and is just as loveable as the first.  Thomas Zehetmair, one of the great violinists of our time, re-visits these remarkable works with vividness and intelligence. Meanwhile, Raymond Deane’s Embers is one of his best-known works which obsessively turns over musical fragments. Finally, Beethoven’s Serioso quartet is filled with astonishing variety, mysterious harmonies and as the name suggests, is sterner and riveting in character.  These seminal works have a new lease of life, through the vitality and virtuosity of the Irish Chamber Orchestra.  This concert is available online for 1 week only.

Dates and Tickets 

Join us from 5 pm on Thursday the 14th January as we stream ‘Bach, Beethoven & Deane’ online until January 31!