Irish Chamber Orchestra 

Changing lives through Music

Newsletter Signup

Wurzburg Mozartfest

Thursday 19 June

Jörg Widmann Principal Conductor and Clarinet


Mozart                              Adagio and Fugue

Widmann                          Sextet 180 Beats per minute

Weber                               Clarinet concerto no.1 in F minor Opus 73

Widmann                          Insel der Sirenen

Mozart                              Symphony No.41 1202-2200,tmp

Mozart frequently wrote short works for quick sale. His seldom performed Adagio and Fugue K.546 were two such pieces.   The C-minor Fugue was first composed in December of 1783 for two pianos (K. 426) but re-arranged for strings, with an introductory Adagio, in June 1788, the prolific summer during which he also penned his last three symphonies. Jörg Widmann showcases two of his works – 180 Beats Per Minute for String Sextet, inspired by his college days and Insel der Sirenen (Island of the Sirens) for Violin and String Orchestra, which is a kaleidoscope of sonic brilliance, with Katherine Hunka (ICO Leader) as featured soloist.


Concert Dates

  • 20:00, Thursday, June 19, 2014

    Tickets no longer available


Copyright © 2011 Irish Chamber Orchestra. All Rights Reserved.
Charity Number 8789

  • Arts Council logo
  • Culture Fox logo