Irish Chamber Orchestra 

Changing lives through Music

Newsletter Signup

World Premiere

Gábor Takács-Nagy Director
Daniel Bates Oboe

Liszt Angelus
Beethoven Symphony No. 4, Op. 60, B-flat Major
Jean Francaix Suite for Oboe and Orchestra, “The Flower Clock”
Kinsella Symphony No. 10

Gábor Takács-Nagy is renowned the world over as a chamber musician; a founding member of the Takács Quartet, he enjoys a formidable reputation as a conductor.

Liszt’s Années de pèlerinage was written at the end of his life; his Angélus! Prière Aux Anges Gardiens, the first of seven pieces, was inspired by the Angelus.

Beethoven’s Fourth Symphony, with its freshness and spontaneity of themes and its perfection of the form, triggered the enthusiasm of his contemporaries. It was described as the work ‘of a giant who performs relaxed athletic movements with gigantic ease and fluency’.

The Flower Clock, a suite for oboe and orchestra, starts sleepily at three o’clock in the morning and passes through the day to nine o’clock at night. This captivating piece was inspired by literature and science and is performed by ICO’s Principal Oboe, Daniel Bates.

Finally, the world première of a much-anticipated Kinsella Symphony No.10 draws this imaginative programme to a climactic close.

Meet the Musician and dine! Limerick Only

Date: 9 February 2012 prior to ICO concert in UCH

Venue: Plassey House, UL

Time: 5.30pm

Menu: Refreshing glass of prosecco on arrival, followed by a two course dinner, tea/coffee (wine not included).

Cost: Including ticket to the concert is €45.00 per person. If you already have your concert ticket and wish to book dinner it is €27.



Concert Dates

  • 20:00, Thursday, February 9, 2012

    University Concert Hall, Limerick

    Tickets no longer available

  • 1328990400
  • 20:00, Saturday, February 11, 2012

    RDS Concert Hall, Dublin

    Tickets no longer available


Copyright © 2011 Irish Chamber Orchestra. All Rights Reserved.
Charity Number 8789

  • Arts Council logo
  • Culture Fox logo