Irish Chamber Orchestra 

Changing lives through Music

Newsletter Signup


Irish Chamber Orchestra

Principal Artistic Partner/Conductor

Mozart Symphony No. 15 KV 124
Haydn Symphony No. 44 in E minor
Rodion Shchedrin Carmen Suite after Bizet

Gábor Takács Nagy has worked with the ICO over many years but this concert marks his first collaborative performance as newly appointed Principal Artistic Partner. A powerful symphonic sound includes Mozart’s youthful Symphony No 15 KV 124 written in his formative years. With energy evident from the beginning, there is a refined simplicity which is addictive. Mozart admired the work of Haydn, especially his 44th symphony which is perhaps his crowning achievement. The Mourning Symphony was so called not because it is so sad but because Haydn loved it so much that he wanted it to be performed at his own funeral.

Gábor Tákacs Nagy has a warm relationship with Russian composer Rodion Shchedrin having previously conducted his best known work, Carmen Suite after Bizet. This suite is a fantastic mix of all the familiar tunes dressed up in a way Bizet would never have imagined. Written for his wife, Shchedrin put his own hallmark on the music by scoring the suite for strings and percussion, forcing him to find inventive new sonorities to substitute for Bizet’s well-loved timbres. The big melodies are recognizable and the dramatic power of the score is complimented by Shchedrin’s interventions and Gábor brings the entire Suite together to great aplomb.

Concert Dates

  • 20:00, Thursday, February 21, 2013

    UCH Limerick

    Tickets no longer available

  • 1361649600
  • 20:00, Saturday, February 23, 2013

    RDS Concert Hall Dublin

    Tickets no longer available


Copyright © 2011 Irish Chamber Orchestra. All Rights Reserved.
Charity Number 8789

  • Arts Council logo
  • Culture Fox logo